A new CEO for Automattic

Automattic has a new CEO now that Toni and Matt have swapped roles in the company!

Toni.org

After eight years, I’ve decided to hang up my CEO hat and ask Matt to take over the job.

What an amazing ride it’s been! I met Matt, Automattic’s eventual founder, almost ten years ago, in the summer of 2004. We were introduced by Om Malik and immediately hit it off. I forget when the idea of creating a company behind the WordPress open source project first came up, but I think it was early on. When Matt started that company – Automattic – and asked me to be its CEO, it sounded like a great challenge and opportunity. My first day on the job was in January 2006. Automattic was four people strong and a few months old. We were small, but we had big dreams. We wanted to make WordPress huge – #1 in its market and used by millions of people. We wanted to build a thriving…

View original post 545 more words

Leave a Reply

